Texas has always taken a hard stance against prostitution. Those who provide sex for money or goods often face criminal charges if they get caught.
You may think police officers only target prostitutes in solicitation cases, but that is not so. Those seeking sexual services can also expect criminal charges, and the consequences of a conviction are more destructive than you might realize.
Solicitation is charged as a felony
In 2021, Texas amended its prostitution laws, increasing the severity of the charges and ramping up the penalties. Before the amendments, soliciting a prostitute was a misdemeanor unless there were prior convictions. Now, even a first-time solicitation arrest is charged as a state jail felony across all of Texas.
If convicted on of state jail felony charge, defendants can expect a harsh punishment. You will face no less than 180 days and no more than two years in a state jail. On top of that, you could be on the hook for as much as $10,000 in fines, and your conviction will become a matter of public record.
As you can see, avoiding conviction should be among your top goals after an arrest. Contrary to common belief, there are several options to consider when defending against solicitation of prostitution. For example, showing that you had no intent to engage a prostitute can strengthen your case.
Legal guidance offers the hope of a second chance to many arrested for soliciting a prostitute in Dallas County. Explore all your defense options with an experienced legal representative to find ways of mitigating the consequences.