All states make impaired driving against the law, regardless of what they call it. Drivers in Dallas, Texas, may have to undergo field tests if they get pulled over by law enforcement. Police commonly use a breathalyzer to check for impairment, but several factors can affect readings.
Texas DWI laws overview
Texas applies two charges to driving under the influence, which include DWI, or driving while intoxicated and DUI. Many people use DWI and DUI to refer to the same offense, but they differ legally. A DUI commonly only applies to minors under 21 impaired by any amount of illegal drugs or alcohol, and DWIs are more serious traffic offenses.
In Texas, a driver may get charged with DWI and drug crimes if they have a blood alcohol content reading of .08 or more. Even if the driver doesn’t get convicted, they risk losing their license from 90 days to one year.
Factors that impact absorption rate
Gender can impact how fast the body absorbs alcohol, because of the biological differences between men and women. Men make more of the enzyme dehydrogenase, which breaks down the alcohol, and their body has more water content. People who have more body fat or weigh more have more water content to help absorb the alcohol.
Taking certain medications with alcohol can not only endanger health, but increase BAC. These medications also include herbal supplements and over-the-medicine used for colds and cough.
How fast a person drinks a standard drink, which includes 5 ounces of wine, 12 ounces of beer, affects BAC. Some drink mixes, such as mixing sparkling champagne with fruit juices, and stronger drinks amplify BAC.
Drivers can still get charged if they register below .08 and face penalties for refusing breathalyzers. They could lose their license for 180 days for refusing a breathalyzer, but they can still fight charges.